Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2020 will be closed to spectators

The F1 season will end at Yas Marina Circuit in December

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2020 will be closed to spectators

The dates of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2020 have been confirmed.

Abu Dhabi will once again host the season-ending race, bringing the unprecedented Formula 1 seasons to a close.

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will take place from December 11 to 13, with the last race of the years taking place on Sunday December 13.

Once again Yas Marina Circuit on Yas Island will host the race.

For the very first time the race in the UAE will be held behind closed doors with no fans in attendance.

The 12th edition of the race in Abu Dhabi will see Yas Island transformed into a biosphere, creating one of the largest ‘safe ones’ in the region with restricted access to the track except for essential staff and the teams.

Before coming to Abu Dhabi the sport will head to Turkey and twice to Bahrain before finishing in the UAE.

“We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi will be part of our 2020 season,” said Chase Carey, chairman and CEO of Formula 1.

“This year has presented Formula 1 and the world with an unprecedented challenge and we want to pay tribute to everyone across Formula 1, the FIA, the teams, and our partners who have made this possible.

“While we are all disappointed that we have not been able to return to some of our planned races this year we are confident our season has started well and will continue to deliver plenty of excitement with traditional, as well as new, races that will entertain all our fans.”
For more information visit www.formula1.com.

Be the first to get all the latest Sharjah news, reviews and deals into your inbox by signing up to our free newsletter, click here to sign up.

More from Sport

The exciting line-up includes a stand-up paddle boarding competition, a mountain bike race and more

Authorities working on a safe plan to allow spectators

Ras Al Khaimah’s hugely-anticipated race will take place in 2021

Ras Al Khaimah will host the event for the first time

Can the Kolkata Knight Riders close the gap on the Mumbai Indians' four championship titles?

The squad, star players, owner, coach and more


Follow us